History

Lakeside overlooks the Kamarajar Sagar Dam which was built between 1954-62.  Mr. Jonnas Homan, the founder of ‘Boys Town‘ charity , envisioned a little paradise which people could come and share. Having spent most of his life working in India, Lakeside would be an ideal retiring place and would also help fund Boy’s Town which provides accommodation and schooling for homeless children. Between 1992 and 1996, he built a charming main building with four rooms overlooking the lake and six independent cottages that are now well-hidden under the numerous trees he planted so many years ago. This was the first guesthouse built in the area.

Peter and Dorinda Balchin, a couple from England, were supporters of the charity and visited India for the first time as guests at Lakeside in August 2008. Mr. Homan decided it was a task to run the place at 80 years old and mentioned it to the couple one morning. By November 2009, the Balchins were officially the new owners of Lakeside. Whilst the charm and splendor of the place appealed to them, it required considerable investment. Over the next six years, Lakeside was nursed back into a warm, friendly atmosphere with quality service.

It was time for the Balchins and their dog Perry to move back to England. In March 2015, the keys were passed on to Meenakshi and Arvind, a couple from Dindigul, who over the years had grown to love this quaint retreat  and wanted to preserve the magic.

 

Advertisements